Art on a Limb

Part of our purpose for hosting Arts at the Aviary meetings is to enhance awareness and experience amongst the other arts – the disciplines that are not our particular “first language” or primary area of study or work.   As of yesterday, I have taken it upon myself to demonstrate this practice.

Acting.  It is not my thing.

image via dmfiat.com

Ever since high school I have had numerous friends who are heavily involved in drama of some sort, and I have never really grasped it.  It seems so horribly scary, and vulnerable, and exposed, and awkward, and potentially embarrassing, and difficult. 

Well, in the name of being a good sport and helping out a friend I have agreed to play a small role in a drama at our church next week.  I don’t have very many lines, so it is probably a good entry-level experience; and it is a humorous little piece – no sobbing called for.  Although, I probably could pull off a decent “Ah- ha- ha!!” scene a la Anne of Avonlea if absolutely necessary.

The sketch involves me having coffee with a friend, discussing our husbands.  The woman playing my friend is indeed my friend and we spend much time all together with our husbands, so no surprises there.  Her husband is played by her husband who is a music lover, which, he is in real life. My character mentions going to see a counselor, which I do in real life.  And then, to top it all off, my references to my husband are all about how much he adores trucks, deer hunting, and football.  Can anyone say typecasting!?  I mean, honestly, have you seen Nathan’s site?  It is littered with talk of his latest set of wheels, his hunting victories, and  a bunch of guys goofing off and calling it their “career.”

Oh well, such is life.

I actually am looking forward to this experience. I am going to try to stay positive, seek advice from my collaborators, and maybe even have a little fun with it.

2 thoughts on “Art on a Limb

  1. I am the same – acting is possibly one of the most foreign concepts to my nature that I could dare to imagine. I can’t lie either. I can only BARELY keep secrets! You’re much braver than I am. Go for it!

    • Thanks, Katie. As I mention in my upcoming post, I’m so glad I did go for it. You may not be able to lie, but you’ve got some killer violin skills, a great blog, AND you teach CHILDREN. Keep it up 🙂 Can’t wait to meet up soon. (I bought brownies last week in anticipation of our get-together…but….something happened to them…??)

Thoughts?...

